Idols: Carved Wooden Images?

When I used to think of idols, I always thought of the little wooden or metal statues that are in pagan temples. You know, those things that people worship, pray to, and ultamitely, believe it will give them comfort. I would always wondered, why don’t they realize that it’s just a stupid statue? It was made by humans! I never considered for a minute that it is entirely possible that I myself could be guilty of idolatry. After all, I didn’t have a little statue that I believed would comfort me and protect me. I didn’t have anything that I worshiped. Or did I?

“I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before me,” Exodus 20:2-3.

Now what does He mean when He says “you shall have no other gods before me.” There are no other gods. There is only one.

Anything we give more importance to than God becomes a little “g” god in our life. That is what an idol is. Anything or anyone we decide doing or spending time with is more important than spending time with the Lord. We have all committed the sin of idolatry. Believe me, I have done more than my fair share. For some people, its money, alcohol, food, school, or success professionally. But the biggie, especially for teens is, (yeah you know where I’m going here,) the opposite sex.

I’ve suffered through many private heartbreaks through crushes. That’s the thing about crushes. They’re private. No one knows unless you tell them. And they’re really fun to daydream about. And, having special feelings for someone isn’t a bad thing! Until it becomes what you obsess over. Then its not a good thing.

I’ve done this so many times. I would read into the guy’s actions and words and even facial expressions until I decided I had the reaction I wanted. I wasn’t exactly a boy chaser, but definitely guy crazy. And get this, they never even knew it! But it was doing its work on my soul. They became what I dreamed about, what I thought about in my spare time, and to be honest, what I was living for. When I finally laid my sin down at the cross, it wasn’t easy. It hurt, and it felt like I had lost my purpose. But what I found in Jesus, was ever so much sweeter.

Learn from my mistakes. Don’t find your comfort, satisfaction, or worth in idols. Break them down and lay them at Jesus’s feet. He will be your comfort. He will satisfy your soul. Through Him, you will find your worth.

keep smiling

{Hannah}

 

 

Leave a Reply

