The Danger of Being a People Pleaser Pt.1

I really want to do that… but my friends will think I’m crazy.

I really need to say this but… people will think I’m a freak.

Someone needs to stand up to them… but what if everyone laughs at me?

The list goes on and on.

We have become a culture who obsesses over what others think of us. Everywhere you look there are people pleasers. People who “go with the flow” because they don’t want to be ostracized. They’re afraid of what people think about them. Even Christians struggle with this, when I am certain they shouldn’t. Do you know what this is saying to God? It’s saying “I care more about what these created lowly beings think of me than what my heavenly, perfectly holy  Creator thinks of me.” It’s saying “Sorry God, but your opinions take second place in my life. Other people’s take first.”

Ummmm… is something wrong here? 

“And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Matthew 10:28

Why do we have a tendency too care more about what people think about us rather than what God thinks of us? Its because we are afraid people will reject us if we seem less than normal. And they will.

“If the world hates you, know that it hated Me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but because I chose you out of the world, the world hates you.” John 15:18

If we build our lives around what people think of us, we will have a foundation that will collapse under the least bit of pressure. We will waste the lives God has given us by not fulfilling what He has called us to do. A fear of people’s opinions leads to us never taking risks by following Jesus all because we are afraid of embarrassing ourselves. We dream of being used by God for big things, yet in our dreams people always applaud us for what we are doing. Unfortunately, that is not very realistic. Next time, I’ll tell you why.

Leave a Reply

